Liùcháo 六朝


  • Six Dynasties (English)
  • 六朝 (Traditional Chinese)
  • 六朝 (Simplified Chinese)
  • Liùcháo (Pinyin)
  • Liu-ch'ao (Wade-Giles)
222 - 589 1

Related concepts


The Six Dynasties (Liuchao 六朝) refers to the six states from the fall of the Han to the Sui reunification whose capitals were located in the vicinity of modern Nanjing. They were: Wu 吳 (222-280), Dong Jin 東晉 (317-420), Song 宋 (or Liu Song 劉宋 420-479), Qi 齊 (479-502), Liang 梁 (502-557), and Chen 陳 (557-589).1

Works Cited

Any information without attribution has been created following the editorial guidelines.

  • 1 WILKINSON. 2000. Chinese History: A Manual, 11.Link to Zotero Bibliographic Record

How to Cite This Entry

Tracy Miller, “ 六朝 Liùcháo” in Architectura Sinica last modified July 26, 2021,


Tracy Miller, “ 六朝 Liùcháo.” In Architectura Sinica, edited by Tracy Miller. Entry published July 26, 2021.

About this Entry

Entry Title: 六朝 Liùcháo

Authorial and Editorial Responsibility:

  • Tracy Miller, editor, Architectura Sinica
  • Tracy Miller, entry contributor, “ 六朝 Liùcháo

Additional Credit:

  • data entry and proof correction Tracy Miller

Copyright and License for Reuse

Except otherwise noted, this page is © 2021.

Distributed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License.